Handselling: “Mother of God” by Paul Rosolie

In his first book, Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon, Paul Rosolie quotes legendary explorer Percy Fawcett: “The few remaining unknown places of the world exact a price for their secrets.'”

One of those places is the Madre de Dios region of Peru, where the Amazon River begins. Rosolie first approached the west Amazon in 2006 when he was just 18. He’s now 26 and is a naturalist and explorer who runs Tamandua Expeditions which uses tourism to support rainforest conservation. He has worked on conservation projects in tropical ecosystems around the world, including India, Indonesia, Brazil, and Peru. Specializing in the upper Amazon, Rosolie has been featured by conservation news sources for leading volunteers from all over the world into the rainforest to protect biodiversity, as well as for his work with anacondas and indigenous communities.

Watch the book trailer to get a feel for the narrative and then share the trailer with your Facebook followers.

Mother of God received a starred review in Publisher’s Weekly and here’s the review from Kirkus.

Rosolie has incredible field notes and images on this blog., and he’s very active on Twitter and Facebook.

Look in your database for readers of The Lost City of Z, The River of Doubt, The Unconquered, Jungleland,Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu, then give them a call.

Beth Golay

Beth is a reader, writer, marketer and Books & Whatnot founder. Even though she knows better, she’s a sucker for a good book cover and will positively swoon if a book is set in appropriate type.

@BethGolay