At Last… ‘Undo Send’ for Gmail

Google recently released a feature that will bring a sigh of relief to Gmail users prone to cognitive dissonance: ‘Undo Send.’

It was a popular feature in Gmail Labs, so it’s been added as a formal setting in web Gmail. ‘Undo Send’ allows Gmail users to cancel a sent message within 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds of sending it. (You get to choose the amount of time.)

Even though the feature is available to all Gmail users, you still have to turn it on. Here’s how to enable it:

  1. Click the gear in the top right.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Scroll down to “Undo Send” and click Enable.
  4. Set the cancellation period (the amount of time you have to decide if you want to unsend an email).
  5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

Now, less than 30 seconds is not a lot of time to decide if an email should be recalled. But in those stomach-sinking moments when you realize you hit reply instead of forward, it will feel like salvation.

Beth Golay

Beth is a reader, writer, marketer and Books & Whatnot founder. Even though she knows better, she's a sucker for a good book cover and will positively swoon if a book is set in appropriate type. @BethGolay