National Book Award Winners: Fiction

1950: The Man With The Golden Arm by Nelson Algren
1951: The Collected Stories of William Faulkner by William Faulkner
1952: From Here to Eternity by James Jones
1953: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
1954: The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow
1955: A Fable by William Faulkner
1956: Ten North Frederick by John O’Hara
1957: The Field of Vision by Wright Morris
1958: The Wapshot Chronicle by John Cheever
1959: The Magic Barrel by Bernard Malamud
1960: Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth
1961: The Waters of Kronos by Conrad Richter
1962: The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
1963: Morte D’Urban by J.F. Powers
1964: The Centaur by John Updike
1965: Herzog by Saul Bellow
1966: The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by Katherine Anne Porter
1967: The Fixer by Bernard Malamud
1968: The Eighth Day by Thornton Wilder
1969: Steps by Jerzy Kosinski
1970: Them by Joyce Carol Oates
1971: Mr. Sammler’s Planet by Saul Bellow
1972: The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor by Flannery O’Connor
1973: Chimera by John Barth
Augustus by John Williams
1974: Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon
A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer
1975: Dog Soldiers by Robert Stone
The Hair of Harold Roux by Thomas Williams
1976: JR by William Gaddis
1977: The Spectator Bird by Wallace Stegner
1978: Blood Tie by Mary Lee Settle
1979: Going After Cacciato by Tim O’Brien
1980: Sophie’s Choice by William Styron (hardcover winner)
1980: The World According to Garp by John Irving (paperback winner)
1981: Plains Song by Wright Morris (hardcover winner)
1981: The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever (paperback winner)
1982: Rabbit is Rich by John Updike (hardcover winner)
1982: So Long, See You Tomorrow by William Maxwell (paperback winner)
1983: The Color Purple by Alice Walker (hardcover winner)
1983: Collected Stories of Eudora Welty by Eudora Welty (paperback winner)
1984: Victory over Japan: A Book of Stories by Ellen Gilchrist
1985: White Noise by Don DeLillo
1986: World’s Fair by E. L. Doctorow
1987: Paco’s Story by Larry Heinemann
1988: Paris Trout by Pete Dexter
1989: Spartina by John Casey
1990: Middle Passage by Charles Johnson
1991: Mating by Norman Rush
1992: All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
1993: The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
1994: A Frolic of His Own by William Gaddis
1995: Sabbath’s Theater by Philip Roth
1996: Ship Fever and Other Stories by Andrea Barrett
1997: Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
1998: Charming Billy by Alice McDermott
1999: Waiting by Ha Jin
2000: In America by Susan Sontag
2001: The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
2002: Three Junes by Julia Glass
2003: The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
2004: The News from Paraguay by Lily Tuck
2005: Europe Central by William T. Vollmann
2006: The Echo Maker by Richard Powers
2007: Tree of Smoke by Denis Johnson
2008: Shadow Country by Peter Matthiessen
2009: Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
2010: Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon
2011: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
2012: The Round House by Louise Erdrich
2013: The Good Lord Bird by James McBride
2014: Redeployment by Phil Klay
2015: Fortune Smiles: Stories by Adam Johnson
2016: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead